You’ve realized how much healthier you are when you eat gluten-free, but most of your friends and family are still serving you foods that contain gluten. This is because they know gluten occurs in breads, muffins, crackers and pasta, but they don’t realize gluten is hidden in a lot of other common foods.
The following is a simple list of foods that contain gluten that you can forward to your friends and family so they can support your gluten-free diet.
This includes tamari. Soy sauce is essentially fermented wheat.
Most Pre-made Sauces and Most Pre-made Soups
Gluten is a common binder, flavoring and thickener. Ask them to make sauces and soups from scratch using completely gluten-free seasonings and spices.
Condiments, Tomato Pastes, Tomato Sauces and Marinades
Not even ketchup or mustard is safe; almost all pre-made condiments contain gluten.
Spice Blends and Seasonings
Buy pure spice blends that are labeled gluten-free; most spice blends, seasonings and flavorings contain gluten unless otherwise labeled.
In general, most Asian dishes are made with seasonings and thickeners containing gluten.
All varieties – black, red, sweet, salty – all have gluten (wheat). Look for gluten-free options.
If you are a vegetarian, you will be sad to hear this meat substitute is pure gluten. Avoid at all costs!
Lunch Meat, Hot Dogs, Brats
Most processed meats have been injected with gluten-laden seasonings and thickeners.
Stay away from Teecino and chicory coffee; they contain malt and barley, both of which contain gluten!
Malted barley is often found in beers, hard lemonades, malt alcoholic beverages and even in chocolates and some candies. Read labels!
Sticking to a Gluten-Free Diet
Fortunately, there are gluten-free substitutes for almost all of the items on this gluten food list. Ask your friends and family to carry gluten-free options or ask what’s on the menu and bring your own gluten-free substitutions to the meal.